tWp

February 19, 2010

Photo credit: Justin Kern - http://www.thewindypixel.com

A few months ago I stumbled upon The Windy Pixel when I was searching for photography inspiration.  I was instantly hooked by the beautiful photos and spent a couple hours browsing through their site. To this day, it is one of my favorite photography blogs.

Photo Credit: Mike Boehmer http://www.thewindypixel.com

tWp is run by two photographers, Justin Kern and Mike Boehmer.  They focus primarily on photos of Chicago (which is why I was originally drawn in…), and they take “High Dynamic Range” (or HDR) photos.

I highly suggest taking a minute and browsing their blog.  They’re both incredibly talented photographers who truly capture the beauty of Chicago.  (They venture outside Chicago and get some amazing nature shots too!).

Photo Credit: Justin Kern - http://www.thewindypixel.com

6 Responses to “tWp”

  1. WoW…..can I say Wow again. These guys are super talented and capture the essence of the picture so well through angles and depth.
    I love taking pictures and photography as well. I’m always trying to find ways to make my pictures look as good as these guys. They capture the city so well, it almost makes it seem like a dream. It’s almost as if the photo draws you in and you are in the photo. I’m definately keep checking back on these guys and seeing what more they have to offer. Great stumble.

  2. These photographs are amazing. What interesting perspectives they bring to the city of Chicago. That’s why I love photography, photographers always seem to find a new way of seeing the world, and can capture the beauty in anything. What a great find!

  3. photomarq said

    I love doing HDRs! I’m still working on perfecting the process…it’s more like creating a work of art than just taking a photo…lots of post work to get them looking right. These are good examples though. I’ll have to send you some links of other HDR blogs that I know of. I did some cool HDR stuff when I was in Italy, and I plan on making a blog entry about how to do them in the not so distant future 🙂

    • etau said

      Yes! I can’t wait to read your blog about it. I want to learn, it’s just a matter of finding time to sit down and really get into it. Someday…

  4. I really enjoyed these pictures! I was born and raised in Chicago, so I always love seeing pictures of the city. It amazes me how people are able to capture it from so many different views and in such creative ways.

  5. Gee said

    Great blog post, Emily. Informative, inspiring and aesthetic. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

